By Air

Year 2013 saw a dramatic surge in tourist arrivals thanks to the relative peace prevailing in the country. With a few international flights to Nepal filled to capacity, it is allowing more foreign airlines to fly direct to Kathmandu. As a result, nine new international airlines commenced their operations to Nepal in 2013. Similarly, a few of those that already existed increased the frequency of their flights to Kathmandu, thus creating more seats.

All the operating airlines have direct flights from the Middle East and other parts of Asia to Kathmandu’s Tribhuvan International Airport (TIA), Nepal’s only international airport, about 7km away from the city centre. However, there are no direct flights operating at present from Europe, Australia or America, but there are convenient connections via Bangkok, Singapore, Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur, Seoul, Doha, Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Delhi, Dhaka and Karachi.

Please contact your nearest travel agent to arrange tickets to Nepal as we don’t deal with international air ticket.

Following is a list of airline companies that link Kathmandu with various cities of Asia:

Airlines
Code
Hub City or Connecting City
Website
1
Gulf Air GF Bahrain http://www.gulfairco.com
2
Qatar Airways QR Doha http://www.qatarairways.com
3
Etihad Airways EY Abu Dhabi http://www.etihadairways.com
4
Air Arabia G9 Sharjah http://www.airarabia.com
5
Thai Airways International TG Bangkok http://www.thaiair.com
6
Silk Air (subsidiary of Singapore Airlines) MI Singapore http://www.silkair.com
7
Korean Air KE Seoul http://www.koreanair.com
8
Dragon Air (subsidiary of Cathay Pacific) KA Hong Kong http://www.dragonair.com
9
Nepal Airlines International NA Delhi, Bangkok, Hong Kong, Dubai http://www.royalnepal-airlines.com
10
Cosmic Air F5 Delhi http://www.cosmicair.com
11
Jet Airways 9W Delhi http://www.jetairways.com
12
Indian Airlines IC Delhi, Kolkata, Varanasi http://www.indian-airlines.in
13
Druk Air KB Paro, Delhi http://www.drukair.com.bt
14
Biman Bangladesh Airlines BG Dhaka http://www.bimanair.com
15
Pakistan International Airlines PK Karachi http://www.piac.com.pk
16
Air China CA Lhasa http://www.airchina.com.cn
17
China Southern Airlines CZ Guangzhau http://www.flychinasouthern.com
18
Jetlite (subsidiary of Jet Airways) S2 Delhi http://www.jetlite.com

By Land

There are several entry points by road into Nepal. However, all foreign visitors are required to use the following seven entry points to enter Nepal: six from India, one from Tibet, China. There are no international bus or train services; everyone should change buses at the borders.

Nepal-India Border

Kakarbhitta- connected to Darjeeling and Silguri
Birgunj- near Raxaul in India, the most popular entry point for overland travelers
Sunauli- near Bhairahawa and Lumbini, and on the road to Pokhara
Nepalgunj
Dhangadi
MahendraNagar- connected to Kumaon and Garhwal regions of India

Nepal-China Border

Kodari- mostly used by travelers intending to visit Mt Kailash region and Lhasa in Tibet

Also see Visa Information to learn about relevant info on entry procedures